Tortilla we meet again…(sugar-free!)

My beloved loves making fajitas. He just loves them. So often we have purchased store bought tortilla shells and he’s eaten them quite happily. Well, one fine day he asked me if we had any tortilla shells left from the last time he ate them and I said, “Yes, but that was two weeks ago.”

I went to check on them to see how badly they had rotted and to my shock and disgust, they still looked the same as they did the day I bought them. If cockroaches can survive a nuclear holocaust, then I think they will take over the planet by surviving on store bought tortilla shells. I admit, I had never looked at the ingredient list before because fajitas aren’t really my thing but after reading  the list of unpronounceable ingredients, I realized there were mysterious things keeping the tortillas from going bad. Mysterious things I didn’t trust.

I looked up the ingredients for home-made tortilla shells and happily found many that are sugar-free so I decided to make them from scratch.

THE DIFFERENCE IS UNDENIABLY BETTER!

And so we begin…

In a stainless steel bowl I added 1 3/4 cups flour, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp baking powder, 3 Tbsp olive oil and 1/2 cup of water. I kneaded the dough into a ball until the consistency was a squishy delightful blob.

IMG_8247

Big ball of blob…apologies my gluten-free friends

I covered it and let it sit for fifteen minutes.

When I uncovered it, I found it had shaped itself into a giant “F-U” to the chemical food industry…

IMG_8246

Art is in the eye of the beholder

Okay, I did that 🙂 And I have to admit, it was the funnest part.

Then I shaped the dough into smaller balls to get them ready for the frying pan.

IMG_8249

I love my Tupperware mat!

So the next thing I did was roll out the dough. You want to get it as thin as possible. The kind of thin that makes you want to plaster the dough on your face and run around playing out scenes from “The Silence of the Lambs”. Then throw it on the frying pan WITHOUT OIL and let it cook over medium-high heat. *make sure the pan is heated before you put down the first tortilla.

I use the Curtis Stone frying pan which is the BEST THING I HAVE EVER BOUGHT FOR THE KITCHEN! It doesn’t burn anything. ANYTHING!! And it cooks evenly right to the edge. It’s huge, it’s lovely and I get a lady boner every time I use it. Marry Me, Curtis Stone. I will make you tortillas.

IMG_8252

There’s no chance a single one of the tortillas was going to come out perfectly round. No chance at all.

They blow up all nice and weird like. This one in particular looks like something out of Star Wars…

IMG_8253

Luke, I am your flour father

I fried them all up (fry seems like the wrong word here since there was no oil used) and near the end, my beloved tells me, “Gee, those would be even better with cheese in them.” He’s a hard core carnivore with a taste for the richer, cholesterol clogging parts of the palate, so I decided to finely grate some cheese and knead it into the last two tortillas for him.

 

IMG_8254

Pass the cheese please

This made the tortilla a tad more dense but it still flattened out beautifully.

IMG_8255

Curtis Stone pan = no chance of sticking, even with cheese!

And on the flip side…

 

IMG_8256

Yum

He was right (don’t tell him), but the cheese ones were damn delicious.

Here’s the finished stack

IMG_8264

And stuffed with the chicken and skirt steak we marinated from scratch

IMG_8266

Test bite – without cheese

All in all, it took about an hour to make these and it was totally worth the effort. No more store bought tortillas for us.

That’s a “wrap”, folks! 🙂

IMG_8271

RECIPE

1 3/4 cups flour

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp baking powder

3 tbsp olive oil

1/2 cup hot water

Knead dough. Shape it into whatever phallic thing want. Divide into small balls cause that’s fun too. Roll out dough to a very thin consistency on very, very lightly floured surface. Heat frying pan to medium-high heat. Place tortilla shell on frying pan. Flip after a minute or so. Cook on both sides. Eat it. It’s delicious.

Leave a Reply

