What a Wonderful Word

A few days ago, when talking to one of my significantly younger friends, it struck me how different the meaning of certain words are now that I’m nearing 50 years of age. At 23, her idea of what it means to “party” is remarkably different from mine. It’s not that I didn’t once share her enthusiasm for a late night out – it’s just that now, I need a nap first before I can even contemplate staying up till 11pm.

As a writer, I thought it would be a fun experiment to examine a few words and demonstrate the difference in the meaning behind them – from when I was in my 20’s, then my 30’s and now in my 40’s.

What a wonderful word indeed… 🙂

Word meanings over time part 1 copy two

Leave a Reply

