Sugar-free me…week one!

After having the most insanely perfect piece of chocolate mousse cake on Mother’s Day, I realized I’ve become addicted to the high that sugar brings. I’ve done sugar-free cleanses before and considering how much of the ‘other’ white drug (crack is white, right?), I decided it was time to give my body a break and rid it of the addiction. So on Monday May 10th, I posted on my Facebook page that I was going to go sugar-free for three weeks. (Three weeks is how long it takes to break a habit and know you’re past the hard part).

The only reason I posted it on Facebook was to force myself to commit to it. I had no idea so many people would be inspired by my attempt to rid myself of the sweet devil and how many more would share their stories of success with me.

So off I went to start the cleanse and not twenty minutes later, the cravings started up. Here’s a snapshot of that first week:

Sugarfreeme week one

This entire week I realized I haven’t been this obsessed with what goes in my mouth since the days when I was single 🙂

And though it really is too early to notice the benefits, I will say that stopping to think about why I am craving sugar has helped me a great deal in staying the course. Often my motivations aren’t hunger, they are emotional (surprise, surprise) so when I take a step back, it’s not as difficult to resist the urge and move past the craving.

After week one, as far as health benefits go, I can say that I am already starting to sleep a bit better. While I am not one to weigh myself, I was happy to notice a hoodie that I haven’t been able to zip up for months closed with only minimal grunting and sucking in of gut. So that’s something!

I’d raise a glass to completing week one but the only thing I want to drink right now is Kool-Aid followed by the chocolate malt balls I refrained from assaulting in Bulk Barn.

Onwards…to week two…. 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Sugar-free me…week one!

  1. Sugar kicks my butt on a regular basis. When I can stay away from it, my body and mind work better. When things get tough, I juice or increase protein. I’ve tried the 21 day Sugar Detox, among others. For me it’s an on-going challenge and I have to take it one day at a time. Thanks for your posts. They encourage me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh JB, I really feel your pain. It IS a daily struggle plus sugar is hidden in so many different things and sometimes where you least expect it. You keep at it. We’re in this together!

      Like

Leave a Reply

